Google Releases ‘Undo Send’ Option

For those who have sender regret, Gmail now includes the option to take back sent e-mails. But you have to act quickly. Google announced the release of an “undo send” option, which allows users to recall a message within 30 seconds of it being sent.

Users of Google’s popular mail application will be able to unsend e-mails, for example, when you accidentally forget to attach a file or hit the “reply all” button by mistake.

The unsend feature was originally launched in 2009 but only an experimental basis. Now, the feature has been rolled out as a formal setting in Gmail on the Web, via a gear icon at the top right. Under “settings” in the drop-down menu, you’ll need to check the “enable undo send” box to use the feature. You can also select the number of seconds (among options of five, 10, 20, or 30) that you’ll have to cancel a message.

Source: “How to Unsend E-mails in Gmail,” WIRED (June 23, 2015) and “Gmail ‘Undo Send’ Option Officially Rolls Out,” Forbes (June 23, 2015)